Netherlands : : Sergei Magnitsky Resolution

Netherlands-01In July 2011, the Dutch parliament, by a unanimous vote of 150 to 0, passed a resolution demanding that the Dutch government impose visa and economic sanctions on the Russian officials who were responsible for the false arrest, torture and death of 37-year old anti-corruption lawyer Sergei Magnitsky. The Sergei Magnitsky motion in the Dutch parliament was supported by deputies from both rul­ing and opposition parties. In addition to Mr Çörüz (Christian Democrats), the motion was co-sponsored by Mr Joël Voordewind (Christian Union), Mr Han Ten Broeke (Liberal Party), and Mr Kees van der Staaij (Dutch Reformed Party). Senior Dutch law­maker Frans Timmermans also voted for the resolution.